Arthur C. Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies

The core function of the Arthur C Clarke Institute for Modern Technologies (ACCIMT) is to accelerate the introduction of modern technologies to Sri Lanka and to promote future studies in the areas of modern technologies. This includes communication and related sciences, information technology, electronics, space technology, robotics, photonics and new materials.

National Engineering Research and Development Centre

National Engineering Research and Development Centre (NERDC) is involved in Research & Development (R&D) activities in key areas of development programmes of the country which include cost effective building and infrastructure development, safe drinking water, biomass energy application, energy & environment, agriculture and food security etc. Research findings of the development projects of NERDC have provided solutions for important issues such as high prices of construction, energy crisis, insufficient infrastructure in rural areas, wastage of food during transportation and environmental issues etc.

National Institute of Fundamental Studies

National Institute of Fundamental Studies (NIFS) is the foremost Institution in the country devoted to fundamental research. The original IFS Act No. 55 of 1981 was amended by the Act No. 25 of 2014 with the main objectives to initiate, promote and conduct research and original investigations in fundamental studies in general and to collaborate with public and private institutions as may be necessary to develop applications relevant to the studies.

National Research Council

National Research Council (NRC) was established by the President in 2007 with the objective to assist the Government to plan, coordinate and facilitate research in science and technology so as to build a vibrant national scientific and technological community in the country to derive the maximum benefit. The unique concept of NRC has been to encourage scientists to conduct research particularly important to the country, while making a worthy contribution to advancing science globally. Realizing the importance of having an institutional mechanism that will ensure the transparency in R & D related financial management and administration, an Act was passed on 7th July 2016 and NRC has now been established as a Statutory Body under the Act No. 11 of 2016.

National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation (NSF) was established in 1998 by the Science and Technology Development Act No. 11 of 1994 as amended by Act No.32 of 2013 the successor to the Natural Resources, Energy & Science Authority of Sri Lanka (NARESA). NSF’s Mission is to initiate, facilitate and support research and development, innovations and technology transfer through funding, knowledge creation, capacity building, partnerships, information dissemination and popularizing science.


Sri Lanka Inventors Commission

The Sri Lanka Inventors Commission (SLIC) is a Statutory Body which has been established by the Sri Lanka Inventors Incentives Act No 53 of 1979. The Commission has been set up with the broad objective of promotion and encouragement of Sri Lankan Inventions and their commercialization.

National Innovation Agency (NIA)

Responsibility of this division is to work towards promoting value addition and commercialization in line with the National Science Technology and Innovation (STI) Strategy of Sri Lanka.